US coin mercury dime

The dime, worth ten cents, has been minted in the US since 1792. Dimes (originally “disme”) were made of roughly 90% silver until the Coinage Act of 1965, after which they were made of a copper and nickel. There are several design variations: Draped Bust dime (1796-1807), Capped Bust dime (1809-1837), Seated Liberty dime (1837-1891), Barber dime (1892-1916), Winged Liberty Head aka Mercury Dime (1916-1945), Roosevelt dime (1946-present).